Review: Unraveling by Sara Ella

Unraveling (Unblemished, #2)Unraveling by Sara Ella

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Oh. My. Goodness. I think I just died. This book, people–if you’re going to preorder a book in 2017, then make it this one. It is so worth it.

Okay, this review is going to sound totally fan-girly, and will probably contain spoilers from the first book. You’ve been warned.

SQUEAL! I loved this book so much. It has the best romance since Parvin and Solomon, and some of the swooniest scenes in all of romance history. The best part? It’s totally clean!! That makes me so happy. 😀 There is a few content issues, which I will mention in the content guide below, but nothing to cause me to rate it under 5 stars. (view spoiler) I loved most of the characters in this one. The author did an amazing job with their character arcs, transforming them just enough without making it seem unbelievable. (view spoiler)

I am amazed by all the worlds–or rather, Reflections–that Sara Ella keeps coming up with. It’s so cool how she ties them altogether as well! She mixes all sorts of cultures, real and imagined, in her world-building. Like El says in the book, perhaps we ought to already be expecting the unexpected. (view spoiler)

The plot kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. I raced through it in record time. Unfortunately, that also means I have to wait for book 3, which isn’t even on the horizon yet! The life of a reader. Sigh. Anyway, I was curious where Sara Ella could go with this one. After all, Crowe is dead, the Reflection saved, and El is about to be crowned queen. What could possibly go wrong? (Hint: the answer is anything and everything, my friends. Anything and everything.) The only part I didn’t care for a whole lot out of this book (view spoiler) was the allegorical aspect. I’m not totally sure where the author is going with this. It’s not a Biblical allegory, so far as I can tell. Or if it is, it’s a twisted one. And those always make me a little twitchy. Regardless, I can’t wait to see what happens in the next (and last!) book.

Overall, I adored this book. I loved it even more than the first one! (Which is very rare–the only other sequel I liked more than the first is A Time to Speak by Nadine Brandes.) I highly recommend this one (and it’s definitely a buy-it-instantly kind of book)!

Rating: 5 glowing butterflies

Recommended: Yes. 14 and up. (Too confusing for younger readers, and some content issues.)

Content guide:

Language: 0/10 (that I can recall)
Sexual content: 5/10 (some non-sexual nudity, desire to kiss or touch, heavy kissing, some touching, innuendo, one scene could be interpreted the wrong way)
Violence: 7/10 (quite a few injuries and deaths, but most non-graphic. definitely some darker content in this one.)

*Many thanks to NetGalley for providing a copy to review!*

For more book reviews, or to request your own book to be reviewed by yours truly, visit gabriellenblog.wordpress.com

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

