Review: The Ryn by Serena Chase

The Ryn (Eyes of E'veria, #1)The Ryn by Serena Chase

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

My dear friends, I have found you another life-changing book. The Ryn, while containing the simple truths and clear-cut beauty of a fairytale, is so much more. It has many profound gems hidden in its pages, not the least of which is the allegory. From the first few pages, I knew this book would totally capture my attention–and it held it all the way through.

The Ryn mixes hints of classic fairytales with fantastic world-building. There is so much magic and wonder packed into each setting, that I had a hard time deciding whether I wanted to be Andoven or Veetrish. (I eventually decided Veetrish. Read The Ryn, and you’ll understand why. 😉 ) The amazing world-building reminded me of Seeker’s Call by Cassandra Boyson–another worthy read, if not quite as well-written as The Ryn. I thoroughly enjoyed being immersed in the world of E’ veria.

The characters were well done also, drawn vividly and given distinct personalities. While at times I felt them to be a little bit cliché, they were well-rounded for the most part. Rose was a very sympathetic protagonist, and I look forward to reading more about her in the rest of the series.

The plot was very suspenseful–all sorts of surprises kept causing me to gasp or laugh by turns. At one point, I clapped my kindle cover closed and shrieked–causing my siblings to ask if somebody had died. I didn’t bother answering–I had to get back to the book. While the basic plot isn’t unique in itself (I’ve read a few books that follow similar plots–again, I liken it to Seeker’s Call) I felt like it was fresh enough to be worth the read.

One odd thing about The Ryn that threw me off was the writing went from third-person to first-person. It was a little jarring, and I would have preferred that the author had chosen one or the other to stick with throughout the book.

Final notes: The Ryn, though marked by a few errors common to first-time writers, was an excellent book. Fantastic world-building and an exciting plot make an irresistible combination. I can’t wait to jump into the sequels.

Rating: 4 stars

Recommended: 12 and up

Content guide (may contain minor spoilers):

Language 0/10
Sexual Content 1/10 (romantic feelings, an almost-kiss. Romance is very clean and well represented)
Violence 3/10 (curses cause death and sickness, some wounds–not graphic, a razed village is mentioned, but not described)

*Many thanks to the author for providing a copy to review*

For more reviews, see Gabriellenblog.wordpress.com, or fullofbooks.com.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: The Ryn by Serena Chase

Leave a Reply

