Review: Goldheart by Kenley Davidson

GoldheartGoldheart by Kenley Davidson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I LOVED this one! (I knew I would as soon as I read the first few pages–absolutely lovely writing!) In my personal opinion, it was even better than the first book (Traitor’s Masque).
Technically, it should be rated 4.8 stars–there was some profanity again, as well as a rather violent death. But 5 stars for everything else!

I loved the characters. Elaine is such a sweetheart–and an artist! Double points. Will and Blaise were great as well (view spoiler), and the villains were spine-crawling creepy. As in the first one, the characters were the best part of the book.

Not much world-building in this one, but where I had missed it in the first, I didn’t notice the lack of it as much in this one.

The plot was great–I am not a fan of the Rumplestiltskin story in general, but this retelling was genius. It was very subtly woven in, and it worked perfectly. Even though Goldheart is significantly shorter than Traitor’s Masque, I truly didn’t notice. The plot was neither rushed nor incomplete, but was wrapped up well. It really is the perfect length for this story.

Last note: Goldheart was beautiful, suspenseful, and a perfectly lovely retelling. I loved this set of characters even more than the ones from Traitor’s Masque, and I really hope we’ll see more of them in coming books! (view spoiler)

Rating: 4.8 stars

Recommended: 13 and up (mostly due to language concerns and one violent scene)

Content guide (may contain minor spoilers):

Language: 4/10 (profanity used here and there.)
Violence: 7/10 (one character insinuates violence and abuse against another character. a violent suicide.)
Sexual Content: 1/10 (one light kiss, not described.)

*Many thanks to the author for providing a copy to review!*

For more reviews, see gabriellenblog.wordpress.com and fullofbooks.com

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

