Review: The Heart of Arcrea by Nicole Sager

The Heart of Arcrea (The Arcrean Conquest, #1)The Heart of Arcrea by Nicole Sager

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I liked the premise of this book when I first heard of it, and decided to give it a try. It was slow going through the first part, and my expectations dropped. I considered not finishing it, but then decided to push through it. And I am so glad I did!

The feel reminds me a lot of both Chuck Black’s Kingdom series and Jaye L. Knight’s books. It’s set in a fictional medieval kingdom, but still retains some sense of being “real,” as the characters in the story are well aware of the Gospel and Jesus. I would almost call it more of a historical fiction then a fantasy-except for all the awesome fantasy creatures. Ignispats, (come on, isn’t that just fun to say?) carnaturs, and catawylds are a few, along with your traditional dragon. The mythical creatures were definitely one of my favorite parts of the book.

The characters in themselves were also very excellently drawn. Though they seemed a little flat at first part, they rounded out well in the rest of the book. There was a clear distinction between the good characters, and the bad characters. I never felt like the protagonists were a bad example, which is a problem with some of today’s young adult books. My only beef with this, however, is that the main protagonist, Druet, felt a little too perfect. I felt like he needed some more flaws to make him seem more human.

The plot was fun as well, but a little bit predictable. I pretty much guessed how it was going to turn out from the very first part of the book. The author did surprise me with some twists and turns, that I did not expect, though, so it’s not entirely without excitement. (FYI: it does end on a cliffhanger. You are warned.)

Overall, it seemed tastefully done. A pure, encouraging book is hard to find now a days, and this was a refreshment to my soul. Younger kids especially are sure to enjoy it, and this would make excellent read-aloud. I recommend it heartily.

Content guide:
Language 2/10 (mild name-calling)
Violence 4/10 (several injuries, some serious, but handled well. Not gory or overly graphic)
Sexual Content 0/10

Rating: 4 stars
Recommended for 8 and up.

*Many thanks to the author for providing a copy to review!*

For more reviews, see gabriellenblog.wordpress.com and fullofbooks.com

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

