Review of Resistance by Jaye L. Knight

Resistance (Ilyon Chronicles, #1)Resistance by Jaye L. Knight

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Wow. This book is much too long and epic in order to give as in-depth a review as I would like to otherwise. However, I will try to share my thoughts on the book as a whole.

The characters are well drawn and vivid, each a distinct person from the others. It is interesting how the author chose to focus on two main characters, sharing various scenes from their point of view until (view spoiler) The author chose an omniscient POV, moving through the various characters thoughts and emotions. While this can be difficult to do, (and was, I admit, at times distracting) I feel that Jaye L. Knight carried it off well.

The setting itself is interesting, though not entirely unique-it has a feeling very reminiscent of Ancient Rome. I found it a little hard to keep track of what was a city, country, or continent. Thankfully a well-drawn map is included in the front to aid the reader’s understanding, along with a pronunciation key. I also liked that the author included an appendix on the various races that populate the story. (It reminds me of Donita K. Paul’s created cultures, and it is interesting to note that the author thanks Paul for being one of the inspirations for the book.)

The plot itself promises to be interesting, as even though Resistance had its own plot arc, the overall theme will continue over the rest of the series. (Six books total, not counting prequels/novellas.)

It is Christian fantasy, and the Christian world-view is evident, though not fully explained. It may be difficult for those not familiar with the Christian faith to understand the character’s faith and what they believe.

For those worried about content, it is a very clean book. The biggest concerns would be violence-as there is quite a bit-but thankfully it is not graphically described. A few characters are described as immodestly dressed, or wearing revealing clothes, but that is all the description there is to it. A few ‘lascivious’ looks, and that is about it for sexual content. There is no language concerns. I would recommend it for ages 13 and up.

This was my second time reading Resistance, and I enjoyed it every bit as much as the first time. I will be moving on to reading the next book-The King’s Scrolls-(also for the second time) and will post a review once I have finished it.

By the way…
Stay tuned for a surprise May 13th on my blog.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review of Resistance by Jaye L. Knight

Leave a Reply

