Shakespeare Spotlight

In honor of Shakespeare Week (officially last week-sorry it’s a little late!), I decided to spotlight a few things related to Shakespeare, Art, Wittiness, and Disney. (No, that is not a typo. I do mean Disney.)

 

First of all, I must confess I am not an avid Shakespeare fan. The only plays I’ve read in their entirety are Romeo and Juliet and Julius Caesar. However, many of the plays I did read in prose form, in a compilation by Charles and Mary Lamb. I highly recommend it, especially for younger readers worried about content.

 

shakespeare book

 

Now, for the fun stuff. 😉

 

  1. Witticism

My all time favorite quote by Shakespeare is

“I would challenge you to a battle of wits, but I see you are unarmed!”

I was unable to find what play it is from, so I can’t verify that it really is Shakespeare…but it’s a zinger anyway.

 

 

2. Art

One of the most gorgeous paintings of the 19th century is Ophelia by John Everett Millais. He was a member of the Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood of painters. According to Wikipedia, “The painting depicts Ophelia singing while floating in a river just before she drowns. The scene is described in Act IV, Scene VII of Hamlet in a speech by Queen Gertrude.”

ophelia

 

 

     3. Disney

Okay, to be honest, my sister caught this one before I did. I didn’t notice it until she pointed it out to me.

Everyone know the basic plot of Hamlet? If not, I suggest you read up on it so you can experience the full impact of this revelation…

Okay, done reading the summary? Here goes…

Hamlet was the inspiration for…The Lion King!

Surprised? I was too. I can just picture the screenwriters now, trying to come up with a new Disney movie.

“What if we take Hamlet, and set it some where else?”

“Like where?”

“I know! Let’s put it in Africa!

“Yeah!”

“And instead of people, let’s use anthropomorphic animals!”

“Brilliant!”

 

You can read a full report on the similarities and differences here.

lion-king-scar-holding-the-skull
To be…or not to be?

 

Well, I hope you enjoyed my Shakespeare Spotlight!

 

“If we do meet again, we’ll smile indeed; If not, ’tis true this parting was well made.”

William Shakespeare Quotes , Source: Julius Caesar (Cassius at V, i)

Leave a Reply

